Once Upon A Time: “Firebird” Review

By: Carolina

The 20th episode of Season 5 was one of the most emotional and intense of the series, showing us not only a dramatic goodbye scene with Emma and Killian, but also the Lord of the Underworld with an ace up his sleeve, not having changed his sinister plans even though he received a true love’s kiss from Zelena. My heart aches after such angst -I don’t even know how I’m able to write this- but let’s make a recap of how our favorite heroes and villains lived the unexpected and stressing moments in last Sunday’s episode:

The Emma flashback was quite meaningful in the character’s life. I mean, Cleo helped Emma become not only that badass bail bondsperson, but also taught her to use an armor to protect herself, to be more rational than emotional. In my opinion, it’s good to have both of them. You can’t always lead yourself through tough situations by only thinking with your mind, sometimes it’s good to also let your heart guide you.

OUAT 5x20 Emma ArmorAnyways, it was gloomy to see Cleo not making it after escaping from the cops, and more when Emma learned that she had been in the same situation: Cleo had given up her child years ago, empathizing with the situation Emma was living as well. So in some way, they were more alike than they thought. The end of the flashback was both sweet and fantastic, Emma telling Tasha about her mother and getting her own armor: the well-known red jacket we all love.

I definitely liked to see those Rumple-Pan scenes. It’s interesting to see how torn and tricky their relationship is, catching certain tension and rage between them. When Rumple took Robin’s heart I definitely hated Rumple. However, when he told his father that he had actually placed a glamour spell on the “heart” and returned Robin his, I felt not only relieved but satisfied. This of course does not justify Gold’s evil ways to get what he wants, but at least he didn’t mess up everything. Seems like we have already seen the last of the former Neverland ruler.

And what about the heroes wanting to help the residents of the Underworld move on? Excellent decision, Henry. I have to admit he’s worthy of being the Author. It’s all about helping others and not thinking selfishly, which I believe it’s one of the greatest messages of the show.

We also saw more of the sisterhood between Regina and Zelena, which I have become very fond of. It’s nice to see them act like a real family after two seasons of wanting to break one another’s neck and destroy the other’s happiness. Robin, on the other hand, was not that convinced when Regina told him to trust The Wicked Witch when it came to hand her their baby. It was hard for him and it’s completely understandable. How many things has Zelena done to them, always deceiving them time after time? I just hope that this perspective changes because, in my honest opinion, I do think that Zelena is changing (let’s just see what happens on next episode since the promo showed a not so friendly Zelena).

Once-Upon-a-Time-5x20-baby-hood

Hades! I can’t believe he was willing to leave the heroes back in “Underbrooke”, not caring about them even though he had a deal with them. The only good thing he did was remove their names from the tombstones, but apart from that, he was very determined to get to Storybrooke no matter what. I guess that Zelena wasn’t right at all, love didn’t change the Lord of the Underworld and that is going to bring catastrophic consequences, very likely to include a broken hearted Zelena.

Now, let’s get to the part that made me fangirl but also broke my heart, the highlight of the episode. Emma and Hook ventured themselves to the deepest part of the Underworld with the hope of feeding him with the fruit of Ambrosia so he could finally go home. OUAT tells us Orpheus and Eurydice’s story in a different way than in the original mythology, but it still kept its essence. I love how the show has included Greek stories and the way they have linked them to the core characters.

The True Love test was something I did not expect and for that, I feel marvelously in love with how the writers put it. Unlike the rest, this test was about choosing the one you loved above your own life, which made that moment a magnificent and unique one.

The pirate and the savior sharing one of the most painful and touching farewells in history made me sob uncontrollably the rest of the night. Seriously, how many times do we have to go through this before Captain Swan finally gets a happy, peaceful, angst-free moment? I do hope it’s soon, otherwise my shipper heart won’t be able to handle it.

OUAT 5x20 Emma Hook Bye

Once Upon A Time’s “Firebird” exceeded my expectations, not only for the fact that we had many Captain Swan moments, but also because we got to see a significant time in Emma’s life that left a mark on her. I do like how Henry is getting more and more into his author role and I hope we get to see more of this. My only worry right now is Hades, because he has lied to Zelena and for sure will turn her against her sister and the rest of the heroes.

Finally, I’d like to express how crazy I went with the promo for next week’s episode. We’re not only getting a lot of disagreements between the characters, but also a devastating scene of a funeral, Killian Jones’s funeral! We do know he’s coming back; the question is HOW?

Yeah, it’s gonna be a hard week until Sunday arrives.

Rating: 9.5/10

Once Upon a Time airs Sundays at 7/8 pm.

 

Leave a Reply

