Surviving the OUAT Hiatus

As we all well know, the Once Upon A Time hiatus is here. Based off of previous years, I’m guessing ONCE will return September 25, 2016 with its season six premiere. That’s 117 days. Eeeek! But have no fear folks, it was recently announced that filming begins next month! July seventh if you want to be exact (I know we do). What are we supposed to do in the mean time? I’m glad you asked. Look no further–I have compiled a list of things that may just save you from breaking point this hiatus:

Hiatus Survival Guide

10. Find a book series

You’d be surprised how easy it is to transfer your obsession onto something else. Even if it’s only for a while. It’s especially important to note that some TV shows have taken to coming out with book adaptions or companion series…or vice versa. (i.e. Outlander, Game of Thrones). Check those out too! Don’t write anything off.

9. Start a Blog

Most ONCERS have taken a liking to Tumblr…dare I say even WordPress? If you haven’t signed up yet, it should be on your list of things to do. All I am saying is the amount of GIFs you find of our favorite pirate is well worth it. (Endless scrolling people. ENDLESS.)

tumblr_n393dbCHKo1t07999o1_500.gif

How do you think we are surviving? 😉

8. Enjoy the outdoors, it’s Summer time baby!

tumblr_n7iyukeTBM1qlqo4ro1_500You’d be surprised how quickly time flies when you get out of the house. I know that normally we all huddle over our computers for hours at a time, but depending where you live–there could be some awesome activities you’re missing out on! Now is the time to take part in them. Go Kayaking, hiking, or road trip to the beach with friends! (I live in Florida…so maybe find something to do that’s relatable to your area.)

7. Read/Write FanFiction

Now, I may be a little biased, but writing FanFiction (CS smut anyone?) is very therapeutic, and sometimes you just have to write the story you can’t find.

If you’re not a writer, or have zero interest in trying, READ IT. I promise you, it’s probably one of the best things you could do for yourself on hiatus.

I’ll compile a list of my fav’s for you guys! It may take a few days…there’s a lot. In the mean time, you can read mine.

OUAThooked FanFiction (Shameless self promotion)

6. Look for Summer shows

Freeform (Previously ABC Family) and USA are just two networks that play new episodes (and new seasons) of shows during the summer. Adam and Eddy have a new show, Dead of Summer, coming to Freeform June 28, 2016! We should all show our favorite writers some love and check it out!

featured-dead-of-summer

Also, If you’ve been living under a rock–Pretty Little Liars returns with Season 7– June 21, 2016. (You can watch previous seasons on Netflix or Hulu.)

Which brings me to my next point…

5. Netflix–Binge. Game. Strong.

Netflix has SO MANY great shows. Original series as well! May I suggest Orange is the New Black or Blood Lines…

unnamedOr Binge your favorite show all over again! *cough* ONCE… or maybe you’re also a Supernatural fan? That show has like 11 seasons on Netflix guys… it’s amazing.

4. Don’t have Netflix?

Check your local listings for reruns! Over summer many stations don’t have a ton of new shows. So guess what? They replay all those wonderful episodes in order. Yup, get your Gilmore Girls binge on without Netflix Folks! (If you haven’t seen Gilmore Girls, you’re doing it wrong!)

3. Make fan editstumblr_o6ytvdYBOp1vu90u6o1_1280

I know on Twitter I always love watching those vines or fan videos of my favorite tv couples. I have zero clue how to make them. But by the end of Summer, I hope to have that skill perfected.

I do like to dip my toe in photoshop now and again…It’s quite entertaining (and can get silly really quick.)

CS meets Ironman anyone?   ————->

Let’s compare. I’ll show you mine if you show me yours?

2. Re-Watch ALL media of your favorite Actors

You probably think i’m joking. I’m not. You know how much time I waste on Youtube watching Colin interviews/Bloopers/BTS videos? It’s amazing…or ridiculous, depending on how you view it. Either way, one minute its 6pm on a Monday night, and the next minute it’s 3am Friday.

1. Captain Swan Kisses

That’s right. By now I am sure you have all seen the glorious video a fan made that compiles all the CS kiss scenes. And i’m talking like 43 minutes long.

That’s an entire episodes worth.

5x23

Please– sit back, relax, and enjoy.

—> Captain Swan Kisses

If you have any tips on how to survive the hiatus let me know!

Twitter: @OUAThooked 

So, as we “patiently” await the arrival of BTS media and eventually the return of our fav heroes, join me here with updates during the hiatus!

Emily (OUAThooked)

 

Leave a Reply

