Emma Swan’s Wardrobe

If I asked you which is Emma’s most emblematic outfit you’d probably say it’s her red leather jacket. I totally agree with that. The jacket is not only a modern and fashionable item but also an essential item of its owner that represents part of who she is.

But what about the other amazing outfits she has worn throughout the series? All those elegant dresses and casual pants that made us think “Damn, I want those!”. Emma definitely has used quite some memorable clothes that make her look gorgeous and also, I dare to add, quite badass.

Of course there are many, many outfits I’d love to talk about, but I’m afraid it would take me a bunch of pages to do so because I technically love them all. Because of this, I’m only highlighting a few of them.

From the dress she wore for Mr. Hook to the Camelot gown, here are some of Emma Swan’s outfits that are worth taking a look at.

From Fairytale Land

The red ball gown from the Season 3 finale is by far my favorite gown Emma has worn. It’s simple (it’s not trimmed since it doesn’t have much jewelry or decorative things) but quite elegant and sophisticated. The color itself makes the dress flashy and beautiful. I liked the triangle form of the cuffs as well as the cleavage and the waist. We weren’t able to see them on the show, but Jennifer posted a picture on Instagram of the shoes she was wearing: a pair of heels with two figures of little crocodiles. Well thought, Eduardo Castro. And well, what can I say of the hairstyle? Magnificent! A nice bun with a pair of strings left lose on the sides and a thin silver crown above the head. Quite a princess style!

Being the hero of the story involves (at least in this show) having dangerous swordfights, facing powerful foes, and running throu gh the foggy woods. However, saving the day doesn’t mean the Savior has to look ugly. On the contrary! The outfit from the alternative universe of “Heroes and Villains” was definitely badass! We have the blue vest joined by a nice belt around the waist, a white shirt with brownish gloves and dark pants that, I believe, made it easy for Emma to fight against the ones who tried to stop her from succeeding. I don’t know you, but I think that these clothes definitely looked a lot like Flynn Rider from Disney’s Tangled, which might have made me fangirl a bit, just a bit. The cherry on top was the messy ponytail joined by a small braid on the right side. Nice!

The first thing I said when I saw Emma’s Camelot ball gown was “Awww!!! She looks so cute!”. I mean, she was wearing a flower crown for heaven’s sake! If there’s anything I love is flower crowns, for real. Anyway, putting aside my rant, the details of the laces were just wow! And its color, if you see closely, it’s a tone of off-white. The sleeves were very pretty as well with those laces and small waves in the cuffs. I liked the way it moved when Emma twirled while dancing, it was a beautiful effect. If she ever gets married with Killian (which I’m more than certain that will indeed happen) I do hope the costume designer chooses a dress similar to this one. I’m ranting again, my apologies.

 

From The Modern World

9d9353df0f87181b03583c7ccc674b10

First date. What do you choose to make the guy who owns your heart see you and say “You
look stunning”? Well, Emma Swan has the answer! She decided to wear a sweet, pale pink dress that made Killian’s jaw drop. It was sleeveless with a long and nice V-neck, a thin belt of the same color above the waist and a series of pleats below that made her look definitely gorgeous. The tall ponytail was also suitable for the occasion; it was a different hairstyle that we hadn’t seen in her. In some way, she reminded me of Grease’s Sandy Olsson, mostly for the cute pale rose dress. Seems like the only one who can reach that sweet, romantic side of Emma is the one and only Captain Hook, isn’t it?

Apart from the iconic red one, Emma has taken out other jackets of different colors that we all wish to have. The one I’d like to mention is the tan leather jacket from Season 4 that she used on several episodes of the first half. Of course it’s not as pompous as the other outfits I’ve mentioned, but I do like it a lot. She chose to wear a basic gray t-shirt and black jeans along with a pair of long grayish booths. I was definitely in love with this one because it’s causal but at the same time quite fashionable. And guess what? It’s not that hard to get the outfit! I have found all the items in different stores and easily inspired myself on the sheriff’s style.

“The Dark Swan is coming”. When I read that for the first time, a million thoughts went through my mind. One of those thoughts was “How is she going to look like?”. I imagined lots and lots of possible outfits during hiatus, but it wasn’t until the first promotional images were posted that we finally had a glance of it. As most of the costumes from Once Upon A Time, the Dark Swan’s one did not disappoint me. A black leather jacket resem
bling a crocodile’s skin, black leggings and short high-heeled boots where the things that made up the outfit. It was dark, dangerous, but also imposing. The dyed hair seemed strange to me at the beginning, but as the episodes went by I got used to it.

Also, let’s not forget about that episode (5×02 “The Price”, to be exact) in which Emma wasn’t wearing the previously mentioned clothing but a black gabardine, a short sleeveless dress and stockings of the same dark color. Don’t ask why she was wearing that, but I also liked it!

Honorable Mentions

The Wench Dress. Many things happened while she wore it (flirting with past Hook at the tavern and then kissing him in the Jolly Roger). And Colin loved it, we all know that.

The Gown from Charming’s Nightmare. The first time we saw Emma wearing a fairytale dress even though it wasn’t real. A resemble of the Swan Lake perhaps?

once-upon-a-time-fashion-unif-check-dress-emma-swan

Young Emma’s Jacket. From that flashback on “Tallahassee” where she wore glasses and a red checked shirt. She looked so nice even while stealing the yellow bug.

 

 

 

Which are your favorite Emma Swan outfits? Share them in the comments!

Leave a Reply

