Least Favorite Characters

Today’s post is our least favorite characters on the show. You know you all have at least one in mind!

*Please note: these are our opinions*

Caro: Rumple/ Mr. Gold

At the beginning of the show, Rumplestiltskin was a character I was fond of. He was tricky and funny with his squeaky voice in the flashbacks and quite shady in Storybrooke. However, as the seasons went by I started to like him less at the point of really not being able to stand the scenes he was in. Not because of the actor, Robert Carlyle is brilliant and great, but for Gold’s storyline and the fact that he has done horrible things to… Well, technically everyone.
Let’s start with Belle. She has always believed in him, seeing “the man behind the beast” and thinking that her love can make him a better man. She has defended him throughout the series when no one else has, arguing that he had a good heart. One would expect Rumple to become a good man after all those things Belle did for him, putting the darkness and power aside once and for all. But guess what? That hasn’t happened! He has admitted several times that he loves power, he enjoys being the Dark One and will achieve what he wants at all costs, no matter who steps in his way.
I can’t understand how Belle is still with him, to be honest. I know that Rumple doesn’t mean to hurt her, he truly loves her, but he has made her suffer a lot, lied to her uncountable times and yet she’s there believing that he can change. Dearie, you should totally stop letting love blind your judgement.
Another thing that pisses me off about Gold is that if he has a goal and there are people standing in between, he won’t stop and take them off the way in order to get what he wants, even if those persons are his own family. He doesn’t have mercy, not even for his grandson. On the Season 4 finale, when Henry steals the Olympian Crystal from him, Regina tells Rumple to stay away from her son. What’s his answer? That Henry was threatening him, and magically disappears ready to find that crystal, which by the way contained all of Storybrooke’s power thanks to the Dark One. Henry is his own blood, the son of Baelfire! How can he speak of him min such way? Rude.
And it hasn’t only been Henry. Rumple wanted to put Emma inside the sorcerer’s hat (this pissed me off a lot), blackmailed Hook and removed his heart, willing to kill him (this made me hate him even more!), found a loophole and became the Dark One once again after Killian sacrificed himself for everyone (this made me curse Rumple quite a lot), worked along with Isaac to put everyone inside “Heroes and Villains” only giving himself and Belle a happy story, and so on. You know all the things in the list.
I think that Rumple’s storyline is going rusty. It’s always the same thing with him. He finds a source of power, he wants it, hurts people, betrays Belle, doesn’t care about the rest, etc. I really believe it’s time to give Rumple something different, and hopefully that is the arrival of his baby. Maybe, just maybe, that will warm his heart a bit. But I’m not 100% sure that he will change for that. Thousands of years of being a villain can’t go away that easily, much less when you aren’t willing to let it go.

Madeline: Freaking Henry Mills.

There’s just something about his character that I do not like. It’s nothing against Jared. He was cute in the first couple of seasons, but he just got really annoying around season 3. And I think that might be the reason he’s my least favorite character because he’s just annoying. I get it, kids are meant to be annoying. Surely I was annoying at that age too which was a few years ago. Also, his teenage angst is just making me cringe.

Though, there have been instances where I’ve wanted to scream at him on behalf of his mothers. Time for a good grounding, Moms.

Example 1) His grudge against Hook. Yes, Hook was a villain and yadada, but he knew that he had changed. More importantly, he knew his mom had feelings for Hook. I know he said he was okay with Emma asking Hook out, but he added that little snarky comment where you knew he was not okay. After all Hook did to save him back in Neverland, this just made me mad.

Example 2) How he snapped at Emma in the season 5 finale. It wasn’t just him belittling Emma during the finale, but out of all the people, I thought Henry would never do that. Especially after everything Emma has done for him and his other mom, I found that little outburst disrespectful.

Example 3) The plethora of teenage against. I get it because I’m a teenager as well, but I’m definitely not that angsty. His angst is like running rampant. 5B, he kept snapping at everyone back and forth and it just got repetitive. Dude, please chill.

Example 4) This is minor, but I was super done with him here. When he called Hook a ‘dirty pirate’ in 4B. Like I said, it wasn’t a huge deal, but come on, kid. Hook makes your mom the happiest she has ever been. Can’t you at least try to be decent to the man she loves?

 

 

This entry was posted in Fandom Ramblings and tagged , , , by MeMadeline. Bookmark the permalink.

About MeMadeline

I'm currently in college studying to become a journalist. I'm a writer and reporter with Hollywood News Source, Pure Fandom and Talk Nerdy With Us. I speak fluent sass and I cannot live without coffee. I am a Captain Swan and Once Upon a Time enthusiast. My hope is to one day move to LA or NYC and have a journalism career. Did I mention I love Hallmark? Well, I do and my dream is to be in a movie of theirs. Above else, I am a fangirl!

Leave a Reply

