UGH: Ship Wars

Part of being in a fandom is shipping. And it’s one of the best things about being in a fandom. We all have shipped characters. Even if you’re not in a fandom, you unintentionally ship characters. You just technically don’t know the correct fangirl term for it.

The reason why I’m writing this post is because every time I go on Twitter, I see negative tweets or hate towards other over a ship. First off: that’s cyberbullying. Second: we have to remember these characters are fictional. Third: it’s really not that hard to keep your mouth shut about ships that you hate.

I wish I could log onto Twitter without seeing so many nasty comments. Sometimes I will tweet innocent things about how much I love CaptainSwan. (I have never and will never tweet about ships that I don’t like). Yet, I still get some rather rude tweets directed my way because of who I ship. I just don’t understand that. If who I ship makes me happy, but you don’t like that ship, what does it matter to you? I’m not offending you or your ship. Ship who you want and respect those who ship others. Like I said, it’s not hard! 🙂

I have thought so many times about deactivating just because it’s gotten to the point where nothing I read is positive. When I joined fandoms, shipping was all about fun and positivity. Now it’s almost to the point where you’re skittish about posting something in fear of ‘trolls’ attacking you. Obviously I haven’t deactivated (I love Twitter too much), but I choose to ignore the hate. CaptainSwan, OutlawQueen, etc gets so much hate. And why? Because you don’t like it? Who cares…if you don’t ship it, then don’t ship it. But let those who do enjoy who they ship. I’m not saying that you have to love everyone’s ships, but remember that we all don’t ship the same characters. And that is totally okay. That’s a fandom for you.

Okay. I’ll get off my soapbox now. I just needed to rant. Just remember that whenever you think about criticizing someone’s ship, think about how YOU would feel if they criticized yours. We all have feelings and we all have the right to ship whomever we want. If you respect my ship, I’ll respect yours. Easy!

Leave a Reply

